Snowy day and Lady things

17 Jan

So I still haven’t ran today and I may not be able to today…..but we will get to that!

I should have known it would be a crappy day as soon as I saw this…..

        

…Finny is also not a snow fan as you can see! I was trying to get his picture before he was done doing his business, but he was a quick one this morning! ( okay that sounds like I was trying to take a picture of him going pee….not what I meant).

Luckily I decided because of the snow it was a crockpot dinner kind of night. My friend Christine aka Tini told us about a recipe on Saturday night for bacon ranch chicken. It looks pretty good I will have to fill you in tomorrow about how good it was. I did take two pictures of the work in progress.

So the recipe is basically 1 cup sour cream(i used low fat), 1 packet ranch dressing, 1 tsp minced garlic, 3 tsps bacon bits, 1 can cream of chicken soup. Mix well, preferably in a pick bowl from williams and sonoma because they rock :). Then dump the mixture over chicken in the crockpot (4 chicken breasts). Cook on high for 4-5 hours then shred chicken and add back to pot. Cook 1 bag egg noddles and mix with mixture, let everything heat in crockpot and your done!

Okay now for the lady stuff…..if there are guys reading this you should stop now…

…Not kidding stop reading

Okay now hopefully they are gone. Every woman knows something awful happens to us once a month!

When talking about any sort of training or fitness with females there comes the question of what do you do when your monthly visitor arrives?

I usually always work out through it, however there are some times that I have problems like now. In 2008 I developed such bad cramping that it feels like someone is stabbing me constantly and my legs dont work well due to cramping, and I am prone to throwing out my back as well because of it. I had surgery in 2009 to see if I had endometriosis and if that was the cause, but nothing could be found. I really like my doctor and trust him when he told me that some women just have bad periods and it is something I will gave to deal with. I have been in the hospital to get morphine due to this that is how serve the pain is.

So today I went to work and my legs were still sore from my run Saturday? That is when I knew it was not from the run, so as the work day progressed I became more sick and my upper legs started to get really stiff and the pains in my stomach began. I knew I would not last the day. Now I am home on the couch catching up on Grimm, Once Upon a Time and Being Human, with my 2 best friends currently. Finny and a heating pad. If the pain lessens I will try for a quick 1 mile walk/jog, because I just feel so lazy.

I could really use some advice on how to combat this if anyone has any suggestions, or let me know if you take it easier during that time, or do you still go your hardest??

3 Responses to “Snowy day and Lady things”

  1. nikimiller January 17, 2012 at 4:01 pm #

    Boo, no fun. I usually have one really bad day, and I will do absolutely nothing for that day. I hope you feel better soon.

    That dinner looks and sounds delicious! I might have to try that out.

    I was so excited that Being Human is back! You and I have the same good taste in shows 😉

    • xelak22 January 17, 2012 at 5:19 pm #

      I love being human! I just finished the first episode of the 2nd season! I had to dvr it because we watched the new Alcatraz show last night and it was wonderful! I pretty much plan on doing nothing the rest of the night and waking up early tomorrow morning to kick my own behind!

  2. Middleaged Runner January 17, 2012 at 4:22 pm #

    90% of the time I still work out during lady business time. Like you- on occasion I am reduced to crying in my bathroom on the floor curled into a fetal position and getting sick. fun…. Luckily I have found that (for me) the way to combat this is to know when it’s gonna be that time and for about 24 hours beforehand start taking advil. Bad for the liver- but good for everything else. Sounds like you might have a more severe case of the periods though- such a waste of our time, seriously!!

Leave a Reply

