Weight Loss and Running.

23 Jan

I have never been skinny, well lets rephrase that, I have never thought I was skinny. I was very thin all the way up to around age 15-16. I have been on a constant diet since I hit puberty, and what woman hasn’t. I am not afraid to tell you what my weight is, (because I dont have anyone to impress, I have the man of my dreams and he loves me the way I already am) and I will but first let me explain. I lost a lot of weight before the wedding (I was originally 200lbs when I started losing weight), the week before I was around 162.0 and the day of I was around 174.2 due to stress and relaxing on my workouts.

Now that we have went on the honeymoon and throwing out my back I weigh in at around 185.0 and am 5’8″.  I am rounding up its closer to 184, but since its not .0 I am not counting it. Yes I am hard on myself I always have been in life. Sports, weight, appearance, but that is just me. Now with the help of running I have become more motivated to finally do it once and for all. My goal is to be between 145-148, so I have around 40 pounds to lose. Thanks to the magic of pintrest.com I found a really good motivator.

The post-it on top says “counting beans, not for consumption.” Mom wrote that because we are accountants and I think she thought it was funny.

This is actually mine from my desk, as you should be able to tell due to the hello kitty post it! I bought the glass jar at Homegoods for $4.99. I have around 40 pounds to lose so there are 400 chocolate candies in there and they each represent .01/pound. so for each .01 I lose I get to take one out when the jar is empty I am done, and then I have a cute little jar for my desk! Plus I get to give the candies to my co-workers,  I wanted colored rocks but the store didnt have any! Plus if I do decide to have any they are only 15 calories for 5, so not bad! Plus with this sitting on my desk (where I spend most of my time,) I have to think of everything I eat.

The nicest part is that I do not run to lose weight, I found something I really do love, that motivates me to eat healthier and be more active overall, the weight loss is just an added bonus. I did put on around 5lbs when I first started running again, but that is normal and I will work through it and burn it right off!

If people can go on national television and weigh themselves I can share my weight with the internet. And I do, I use sparkpeople.com as well, and have made some great friends there.

Whatever will motivate you is what will work for you, so I am proud of myself for making this breakthrough in motivation!

7 Responses to “Weight Loss and Running.”

  1. nikimiller January 23, 2012 at 8:36 pm #

    Way to face your goals head-on! It can be really tough putting your weight out there, but I think it also makes it easier to hold yourself accountable.

    And I love the jar! It is cute and and a constant visual reminder.

    • xelak22 January 23, 2012 at 8:55 pm #

      Yea I thought so as well. Pintrest has great ideas for everything and is a large time waster! Thanks so much for your support as well!

  2. DaveHornet January 23, 2012 at 9:36 pm #

    Keep up the good work! I lost 30 pounds. When I first started running I couldn’t run a full mile. Now I do marathons. You will also be like this in time because you said you love to run. I am cheering for ya’!

    • xelak22 January 23, 2012 at 9:48 pm #

      Thanks, that is what I am hoping for. Injuries sidelined me from being able to fully train before but I am getting there!

  3. runningcorgi January 24, 2012 at 10:34 pm #

    Way to go Alex, and what a nice blog!

    • xelak22 January 24, 2012 at 10:37 pm #

      Thanks so much for reading!!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Losing weight never felt so good! « Food, Run, Fun - February 3, 2012

    […] my weight loss motivator. If not, or if you are reading for the first time you can find that post here. Well since yesterday was weigh in day, and I was down .09 since last week. (Really not sure how […]

Leave a Reply

