Training and Making my back feel better!

28 Jan

Yesterday I had an appointment with the chiropractor. He gave me a list of exercises to do to strengthen my lower back. They are all exercises I have done before but were made harder by tiny adjustments to focus on your lower back.

Here is the diagram:

I have to do the exercises everyday except sundays. In order to do all of them you have to keep your abs very tight which make it much harder. Your head and pelvis must also be put into certain positions so that it is effective! Plus however high you think you are supposed to lift your arms and legs is too high!

Yesterday morning I got up early after a rest day Thursday and it proved to be exactly what i needed in terms of rest! I was able to do 2.8 miles in 36 minutes. I am still keeping it slow because I am trying to build up a good base and be able to run the full 5k when I get to it. I was still happy with my pace and mileage. This morning I wanted to sleep in but that did not happen. I went down to the treadmill and combined the 5k program there with my c25k. I did….

2.10 miles in 26:38, if you cannot make out the picture. Plus that was easily the best set up ever, Nook (with Kara Goucher’s Running for women queued up.) A gatorade and the window, with that sweet sweet view!

I am planning on doing some other type of workout today be it more running, yoga on my wii fit, or my bootcamp dvd. I am feeling really strong today dont mess with me! I have these socks on!

Yes that is Hello Kitty as a lion, and the bottoms say ROAR! I would have put that up as well, but I went outside without shoes on and whoops they got dirty! Plus I know I have giant boat paddle like feet, thank you for noticing.

I will end this post with the coolest thing Dan said last night.

We had to go to a wake last night, one of our neighbors passed away. He owns most of the woods around our house and lets us run the trails, he was a really nice guy and only 9 years older than our Dads. After we left Dan took me for ice cream at coldstone. I said I was not hungry, but darn that Churro was good. There were two in there and you better believe I ate 1.5! He didnt mind though. That is him holding the ice cream, because as I had my spoon ready to take a bite, Dan said. “Wait, aren’t you going to take a picture for your blog.” I think he knows the power of delicious food and its correlation to my readership!

Have a great weekend!

What are you weekend plans?

Dan and I are going to a retirement party for one of our co-workers tonight. It should be really fun, he was a cop and now works for us, so his retirement is from the PD. Tomorrow we might go play laser tag then get frozen yogurt, because it is next door.

What is your weekend workout?

What is your lazy weekend activity?

We all have one, mine is currently sitting on the couch watching all the shows I have DVRed and not caught up on yet…WOO!

Leave your answers in the comments below and please subscribe if you like reading the blog. The subscription box is to the right, you will get email updates when I post!

6 Responses to “Training and Making my back feel better!”

  1. β™₯ Lily Wren β„’ (@Flowerduck) January 28, 2012 at 11:23 am #

    Ah I just love the weekends and my lazy activity IS the weekend πŸ™‚ Other than a couple of treadmill workouts and, now you have me motivated, some yoga and stretches I plan to do…not much of anything! Yippee! I rush and drive around so much during the week it is so nice to relax at weekends.

    LOVE the socks by the way Alex πŸ™‚ x

    • xelak22 January 28, 2012 at 11:30 am #

      Thanks Lily! You are doing so good with your own training! I love watching you progress!

  2. runningcorgi January 28, 2012 at 12:13 pm #

    Cute socks!!
    My lazy weekend activity is playing with my dogs and being lazy πŸ™‚ My weekend workout is..well..same with the weekdays. Going to the gym and being a hamster on a wheel πŸ™‚

    • xelak22 January 28, 2012 at 12:21 pm #

      My dog is enjoying being lazy time with me currently, though I am not even sure why he is tired hes been sleeping all day!

  3. speedycupcake January 28, 2012 at 5:04 pm #

    Those exercises look great- let me know how they go!

    • xelak22 January 29, 2012 at 9:49 pm #

      Will do, of course right now they feel like torture, but I know they will get better as I get stronger. Plus what runner doesn’t want a stronger core and lower back?!

Leave a Reply

