New Shoe Review and Our First race info!

10 Feb

I was looking for new running shoes, I have been feeling like I am getting shin splints lately, but I have been stretching and drinking my glutamine after runs for recovery. For once I was doing things right and was being punished with shin splints! Then I realized my shoes are pretty old. I had gotten them this past summer, but I have not ran on another pair, and lately I have been upping my mileage. I thought oh nice now I have regular sneakers to wear now that these have gone into retirement, but what would I get for new ones?

I knew they would have to come from amazon because I did not want to spend a lot (I had a gift certificate,) and because who doesn’t love Amazon? So the shoes I ended up with I did so based on price and looks, and a bit because of the reviews. I figured I would wear my old shoes to the race Saturday and then break these babies in. (I got two pairs a purple and a pink, the pink will not be in until late next week though.)

I was so happy with these even before opening the box. I remember picking up the box off the doorstep and thinking no way can there be two shoes in this box! Secondly these shoes are something to see, I don’t enjoy attention by any means, (I almost had a panic attack before walking down the aisle at our wedding, and I knew everyone there). These shoes however will give you attention or at least the ability to stand out in a sea of black and white shoes!

So they looked pretty and were light, but how did they perform? Like a dream, no blisters, and after my feet and legs feel like a million bucks! I really do love them and am so happy I decided on two pairs!

The only con with them is I wish somewhere it told me to go a half size up! I know most running shoes suggest that, but usually I am a 9 in running and regular shoes, but I can see the outcome of my toes slamming into the toe box repeatedly. They are still awesome though and with no break in required I will be wearing them tomorrow for the race. If there is a race!

Image

Should mention they are Saucony Kinvara Pri0grid 2’s

I say if there is a race, because it is supposed to snow starting at 4am and not stop until Sunday! I really hope that doesnt happen! We picked up our race packets yesterday and I am so excited, so I hope there is a race to run!

7 Responses to “New Shoe Review and Our First race info!”

  1. speedycupcake February 10, 2012 at 11:36 am #

    That’s great that you found some shoes you really like! Just a suggestion though- I’d still go get properly fitted at a running store if you plan to continue running and upping the mileage. You don’t need to buy there if money is a conern, but it is really helpful to have someone who knows what they’re talking about to set you up with a good pair of shoes, or at least give you a good idea of what to look for. They can generally recommend a good shoe based on your stride, arches and other factors. I know at my store, they usually recommend several shoes for me to try and never pressure me to buy the most expensive. Plus, when I chose a pair only to discover they dig into the side of my feet on a long run, they took them back and happily exchanged for another brand that works much better for me.

    Good luck tomorrow!

    • Alex K February 10, 2012 at 6:23 pm #

      Thanks, I am planning on going to a running store, the only one I am aware of in our area is close to an hour away. If I can find one closer I would be there in a heartbeat! I will eventually make the trip, but that seems more like one for my motorcycle so I can save gas :). I will keep you updated to as if these ones start to hurt me, but for now they are pretty good! 🙂

  2. Middleaged Runner February 10, 2012 at 12:04 pm #

    I second getting a fitting. so worth it! good luck in the race- and have FUN!

    • Alex K February 10, 2012 at 6:25 pm #

      I am looking into where there is a running store closer, I mean we do have a new balance store but I am not a fan of those for some reason. I have really wide feet and they are not for me. The race should be fun, but super snowy. I may end up walking it but hey at least I am doing it.

  3. runningcorgi February 10, 2012 at 1:45 pm #

    Nice looking shoes! Glad they work well for you. But I agree with getting fitted at a running store (not those big sports stores).

    Good luck on your race!

    • Alex K February 10, 2012 at 6:26 pm #

      Thanks so much I am looking forward to finding a running store somewhere close to us, and also to my first race, very excited!!!

      • runningcorgi February 10, 2012 at 8:17 pm #

        Kinvara progrid 2 are good shoes for midfoot striker. Super light minimalist shoes. But many runners complained that the soles are quickly worn out. So if you really like these shoes, buy more than 1 pair (and 1 size bigger).

        The very first race! How exciting!! Enjoy as much as you can!

Leave a Reply

