Favorite foods made lighter!

13 Feb

Sunday I was not able to do much, but I was able to cook a lot of food to prepare for the week!  I don’t know if anyone has ever seen the show or owns the cook yourself thin cookbook like I do, it is awesome! You can still eat your favorite foods and lose weight with easy swaps that cut calories and not flavor!

For breakfast I made blueberry Pancakes, made lighter with cottage cheese, sour cream and egg whites. They are so fluffy and light and do not use any sugar! If you warm the syrup and blueberries together in a pan before serving it is heavenly!

 The finished product along with some low calorie whole wheat muffins (also from the book)

I do make substitutions to each of the recipes as I do not like walnuts in muffins, and I didnt have some things on hand for the other recipes but I made it work!

I also made some hash, everyone loves corned beef hash, but it is so fatty! We didnt eat any of it yesterday but we have enough for the week. Substitute sweet potatoes and tofu, (i know tofu scares alot of people, but if you roast it in olive oil and seasonings with the sweet potatoes, it is THAT much yummier!) The orginal recipe calls for baked tofu, however I wanted it to pick up flavors better so I roasted it.

Tofu and sweet potatoes, onions and jalapenos, all for the hash.

The finished product!

Please excuse the inside of our fridge, but I also made some turkey chili. We have it for lunch for the week, it is hot but cut down with cocoa powder and cinnamon. Really delicious!

Finally for dessert last night we had the best thing of the whole weekend!

Greek yogurt, mixed with melted white chocolate, some heavy cream and raspberries and sugar so they would release juice. It was 264 calories and so good, much better than ice cream! The original recipe calls for strawberries, but since our local supermarket did not have them in stock, due to a large sale I used my FAVORITE FRUIT!

I will not post the recipes here, since it would be the LONGEST post ever! But if people would like them I will post them into separate posts!

Tonight for dinner we are having brown sugar and garlic chicken and sweet potato twice baked potatoes!

I will post later and really hope to be able to get a run in, my back is really not doing well today!

4 Responses to “Favorite foods made lighter!”

  1. pickskinny February 13, 2012 at 3:30 pm #

    Oh! Please post the recipe for pancakes and muffins!!! 🙂

    • Alex K February 13, 2012 at 3:44 pm #

      Will do! I will set it up tonight to post tomorrow morning! Thank you for reading! 🙂

      • pickskinny February 13, 2012 at 3:55 pm #

        Of course I jumped straight to the cakes right… and I wonder how I got to this size… but u did promise that it is a healthier version at least 🙂

      • Alex K February 13, 2012 at 9:00 pm #

        It is and two of them (since it makes 8 and two is the serving size) are filling enough, even though they are small!

Leave a Reply

