Archive | 8:48 pm

Valentines Day Events!

14 Feb

Aside from working that is!

Dan and I got take out for dinner, and he had got me a movie for the “holiday”. It was your highness with Natalie Portman, James Franco, and Danny Mcbride. Hilarious movie and a great time snuggling with my husband, you could tell it has been a bust week already when you both fall asleep during such a great movie!

Now I am more awake and watching Biggest Loser, I am saving my run for tomorrow morning since my back is still a bit tight. Better safe than sorry, I don’t want to be stuck in bed for a week!

For Valentines I woke up to a movie, a nice card, a box of Hello Kitty candy bracelets which I handed out at work and only kept one so that I did not eat them all! Plus I got the flowers, beautiful!

          

Plus Dan found out about our trip! We are going to Las Vegas in October for the Monster Energy Cup finals! Whoever wins the motocross race wins 1 million dollars! Dan is so excited to watch the race and to go to Vegas, as he has never been!

Well I have to go, when your Valentine is as cute as mine you’d want to spend time with him also! 🙂

Recipes Low Calorie Pancakes and Brown Sugar Garlic Chicken!

14 Feb
As requested here is the recipe for the pancakes! Just divine! Under that I am including the chicken recipe from dinner last night, so good! Also a picture, the Potato Skins turned into Potato Casserole as I was not delicate enough with scooping the sweet potatoes out, but oh well still tasted great!
 
 
“Blintz” Pancakes with Blueberry Syrup
Makes 8 silver dollar pancakes, serves four. From “Cook Yourself Thin Faster.”
 
Ingredients
3/4 cup low-fat (1%) cottage cheese
3/4 cup fat-free sour cream
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
1/4 tsp baking powder
3/4 cup all-purpose flour
1 pinch salt
2 egg whites
2 tsp sugar (I leave this out and they come out just fine, but if you want a little sweetness, the calorie count below includes it).
cooking spray
1/4 cup pure maple syrup
1 cup blueberries 
 
Directions
1. In a medium bowl, mix the cottage cheese, sour cream, and vanilla.
2. In a small bowl, mix the dry ingredients (except the sugar), then gently stir into the cheese mixture.
3. Using a standing mixer fitted with a whisk or a handheld mixer, mix the egg whites and sugar together until soft peaks form. They will have doubled in volume; do not overmix or they will become dry.
4. With a spatula, mix in one third of the whites to lighten the cheese mixture, and then gently fold in the rest of the whites.
5. Spray a large griddle or nonstick pan with cooking spray and heat the pan over medium-high heat. Using a 1/4 cup measure or large spoon, drop dollops of batter onto the hot pan and smooth to form silver dollar pancakes. Cook for 2 to 3 minutes until lightly golden brown and turn, cooking an additional 1 to 2 minutes until cooked through. Keep warm as you cook the remaining batter.
6. For the syrup: combine the maple syrup and the blueberries in a small saucepan and cook over low heat until the mixture is warm, stirring occasionally, about 2 to 3 minutes.
 
 
NUTRITION PER SERVING
Calories: 250
Total fat: 1g
Sodium: 467mg
Sugars: 22g
 
 
 
Brown Sugar & Garlic Chicken Breasts
 
The original recipe called for breasts but I had boneless skinless tenders so that is what we used.
 
  • 4 Chicken breasts or 8 chicken tenders
  • 4 tablespoons Brown Sugar
  • 3 tablespoons olive oil
  • 3 cloves of garlic chopped finely or pressed

Instructions:

Mix everything excpet chicken into a sauce pan and heat over meduim heat, whisking until smooth. Put chicken into a casserole dish LINE IT WITH TIN FOIL, OR YOU MAY LOSE A GOOD BAKING DISH R.I.P. PYREX :(. Pour sugar mixture over chicken and bake at 450* for 15-20 minutes. The combo will bubble up and the top/sides of the dish may look bruned when it comes out, but it isnt! You may want to add a bit of extra oil or water before cooking.

Still really good as pictured below!

Let me tell you none of that chicken was burned, I know that last piece looks like it got quite the suntan, but it was so delicious!

This was Dan’s plate I ate while he was at the gym, and I ate it all then realized NO PICTURE, I need that for the blog!!!!

Finally a close up of the casserole YUMMY!

 Hope everyone has a great Valentines Day! I will be posting this recipe later, also low calorie and I will make it again!