Starting Ease into 10k program!

20 Feb

Last night I started this program. I figured since I finished ease into 5k and my first race, beginning this could only make me stronger for my next 5K race on March 24th. Plus going back to seeing my trainer Jeff will help as well :).

I was a bit worried at first as yesterday I woke up with sore legs and a cold. However I was able to complete week 1 day 1 in the 29 minutes alloted without any problems. I was able to go 2.32 miles in that time and felt really good. It was a big change from when I first started ease into 5k and could barely run the time they wanted me to, so that was super encouraging. For the first week all three days are a 5 minute warm up walk, run 3 minutes (x5) walk 1 minute (x4) 5 minute cool down.

This morning I decided to do day 2, the program says to rest, but I only take 1 or 2 rest days a week and not 4.  I was still sick and feel like my cold is a bit worse, but again if it is not a stomach issue and preventing me from getting a good workout, I am not going to take the day off. Today I was able to do the 29 minutes again, but this time I got 2.43 miles in. It was a nice improvement and I was not overly tired when I was done. I also made sure to get a good stretch and drink my glutamine mixed with chocolate milk!

Tonight at 7 I am going to see Jeff and get another workout on! I am so happy I can go back, I really don’t mind any of the exercises we do (except lunges), and know that ALL of them even lunges will make me a better runner!

By the way I did my nails last night…. I think you knew I would find a way to girl up this entry!

Image

Oh Plus we had to move our chandelier, I get so excited after my runs and jump off the treadmill and whack my head, so Dan tied it up….Classy!

Image

So now I am making a grocery list and going to clean the house a bit! Have a great Monday everyone!

One Response to “Starting Ease into 10k program!”

  1. Kim February 20, 2012 at 5:54 pm #

    Love those nails! Sounds like your training is going really good. I had a cold last week too… I hope I didn’t give you mine. SORRY! I’m just getting over it now but it wasn’t that bad. Carry On!

Leave a Reply

