Detoxing…a love story

21 Feb

Well its not REALLY a love story but kind of! You see thanks to my little medical issues I am not really supoosed to eat meat, dairy, or anything with yeast, but I do and I love it! My body and my waistline not so much, sickness and bloating no thank you! I have tried vegan diets before and not really a big fan. There are somethings that indeed actually taste better than the “real” thing. (Yes vegan chocolate cake I am speaking to you.) Then there are the not so good attempts, mustard, nutritional yeast and other spices do not make cheese sauce, and I am quite impartial to a good mac and cheese.

So I guess you can pretty much guess that I haven’t been eating like I should. A few weeks ago I picked up the magazine whole living and there was a 21 day challenge in there. It is a detox program so no dairy, no meats, no breads and most importantly to me right now NO SUGAR! Dan and I are both giving up sugar for lent, so I figured why not start a whole day early like a good girl!

I know this is the point you are thinking ew detoxes are so gross, all I can have is lemon water with maple syrup and pepper in it. My answer is FALSE this one is really good, and pretty filling! Plus that whole master cleanse drink is garbage, and tastes like absolute crap, I don’t care which celebrity totes it next. CRAP I SAY!

You can find the entire plan HERE, the food is actually really delicious so far and yes it is REAL food. Real in the sense that it isn’t sticking you to just juices and soups (though they are there), and real in the sense that you are eating WHOLE FOODS, no aritifical or proccesed junk here. The Detox does warn you may be really tired and get headaches the first couple days, but since niether Dan or I drink much coffee or soda I think we should be okay. He was super hesitant to do it, but I think we are both pretty happy already and usually the first and second day are the hardest!

We did have a really delicious dinner last night before the detox began. You better believe I was eating meat, cheese and pasta one more time!

The sausage in our pasta was from Omaha Steaks, and was a great wedding gift! Thanks Shawn and Michelle! 🙂 The yogurt is greek yogurt and I have to say I almost like it better than Chobani which I know is blasphemous but you know.

Okay now onto pictures of today’s meals. Im not going to lie and tell you that I did not spill that juice all over my car because I did! Oh well it was still okay, ginger, carrot and grapefruit juice for breakfast

 

 There are also snacks todays were fruit and nut snack balls and roasted cauliflower.

Dried fruit and nuts, and sunflower seeds food proccessed together then rolled into balls.

Lunch was a great salad of kale, red cabbage, carrots, and a dressing made of apple cider vinegar, dijon mustard, olive oil and salt and pepper.

 Oh yea there was walnuts and sunflower seeds as well.

Finally let me end the entry with I got a free pineapple from bigy thanks to this gold coin!

By the way the post is titled a love story because this is a detox you can actually stick with and is full of what I SHOULD be eating.

3 Responses to “Detoxing…a love story”

  1. Kim February 21, 2012 at 8:00 pm #

    I think I’ll join you. I am not being the best Vegan I can be. Mozzarella cheese is my downfall.

  2. Alex K February 24, 2012 at 2:23 am #

    I!m trying to diet too – but I don’t think I’ll go that far. Good luck to youi Alex & Dan – hope it works doe you. Love, Gma

    • Alex K February 24, 2012 at 11:30 am #

      HAHAHA thanks grandma, guess I was still logged in at your house since your comment posted as me writing it!

Leave a Reply

