Nutritional Advice from Oprah

2 Mar

This post is a bit long, so I know most people will skim it I wanted to put this at the top. Today my Dad is having surgery and I wish him good luck and a strong recovery. It will be a long road for him, one in which he cannot golf for a while. Which will only make him a super cranky man! But I love you a lot Daddy and I hope you do really well! If everyone could send out a little thought for him I would really appreciate it! 🙂

I get my email through yahoo, they have a page called Shine. It is usually filled with recipes and fluff pieces on how to keep your hair shiny, or the best outfit choices. So today I was not about to read an article on health advice you can ignore. Then I saw a snippet that said you do not need to drink 8 glasses of water so I had to click in.

It turns out the article originally came from Oprah.com and here are the tips:

1.) Old Rule: Drink eight glasses of water a day.
New Rule: Eat your water.

The recommendation to chug all that H2O was likely based on guidelines published in 1945. However, says Howard Murad, MD, author of The Water Secret, much of your daily requirement is contained in foods: Fruits, vegetables, beans, and cooked whole grains like oatmeal and quinoa (which soak up moisture in the pot) all deliver servings of water. And, as Murad points out, they offer the added bonus of nutrients: “Watermelon and cucumber are more than 90 percent water, but they also contain antioxidants. With a glass of water, all you get is water.” You’ll know you’re hydrated when your urine is colorless or pale yellow and you’re rarely thirsty.

2. Old Rule: Eat nine servings of fruits and vegetables.
New Rule: Fill half your plate with produce.

A serving of broccoli is about five florets. A serving of raw spinach, one cup. A serving of mango, roughly the size of a fist. “It’s not surprising that people get confused over what, exactly, a serving is,” says Washington, D.C., dietitian Rebecca Scritchfield. Her advice: Stop counting and instead make half of every meal produce. “You don’t need a big mound on your plate. Six asparagus spears at dinner, a spinach salad at lunch, and a sliced banana and some berries at breakfast should do it.” And quality counts: Even two or three daily servings of deeply hued fruits and veggies (like blueberries, bok choy, or red peppers) may help reduce your risk of cancer and heart disease, Scritchfield says. “It’s like darts. The goal is to hit the bull’s-eye. But hitting nearby is good, too.”

3. Old Rule: Avoid red meat.
New Rule: Beef in moderation can be healthy.

Red meat was long considered a heart attack on a plate because it’s high in saturated fat. But a 2010 study from the Harvard School of Public Health found that the cardiovascular risk comes from processed varieties, such as sausage, hot dogs, and cold cuts–not from steak, hamburgers, and other nonprocessed cuts. (The real culprits may be salt and preservatives). Red meat is a good source of iron and immunity-boosting zinc-two nutrients some women don’t get enough of. Beef (especially grass-fed) also contains high concentrations of conjugated linoleic acid, a type of fat that may decrease cancer risk and help reduce body fat.

4. Old Rule: Keep your BMI between 18.5 and 24.9.
New Rule: Eat healthy, exercise, and let your weight settle naturally.

Physicians use BMI (body mass index)–a ratio of your weight to your height–as a tool to diagnose obesity. But critics say BMI ignores muscle mass, and a 2011 Obesity study notes that it also ignores a person’s hip circumference. “People come in different sizes and shapes,” says Joanne Ikeda, nutritionist emeritus at the University of California, Berkeley. “The idea that everyone should fall under 25 is ludicrous.” A person can have a high BMI and still be healthy, Ikeda argues. Research supports the theory: A Journal of the American Medical Association study found that fit women–even if they were overweight according to their BMI–were less likely to suffer a heart attack than those who were out of shape. Ikeda advises her patients to stop obsessing over their BMI, eat a nutritious diet, and log 150 minutes of exercise per week. “A healthy lifestyle results in a healthy weight.”

Those are the four tips pulled directly from the article which you can find HERE.

There are three items I agree with and ONE that I do not!  

1.) This one is the offender of the article, yes other foods provide you water than just drinking it and it is a good start. But as someone who basically only drinks water (and the occasional chocolate milk), I think it is totally worth it to get your 8 glasses a day in. Plus I really feel that a bunch of people are going to read this and stop drinking water at all and double up on diet cokes or gatorades and that is not good either! You do not need drinks like gatorade/powerade unless you are extremely exerting yourself and need the carb replenishment. (Or you are hungover…blue powerade is a magical cure, just saying). Do not even get me started on the diet cokes, people will order the most fatty foods at restaurants and a diet coke, yea because thats saving you! Diet coke is terrible for you and water is wonderful. Dont like the taste add lemons, limes, oranges water, or drink flavored seltzers. I assure you this article is wrong its better to drink water and be over hydrated than to be under.  I drink water like a crazy person and my scale (which measures water %), still says I am under 50%! If you are an athlete or even someone who works out occasionally you need more water than other people. Try this weigh yourself before you work out, then weigh yourself after. If your weight has changed by 1lb or more you did not adequately hydrate! Its not just the color of your pee people!

2.) I love this one! I have started adapting this practice and must eat some form of produce with every meal, it not only helps you feel fuller (hello fiber!). It also helps you distinguish healthier eating patterns and come rto recognize you feel better when you have these foods. Rather than counting servings fill your plate and belly and feel good about your choices!

3.) I TOTALLY agree with this! I am not supposed to eat meat, but you know I do and I love it! I really love beef, I have been eating it all through training (minus the detox), and I do not think it is hindering me. I have perfect blood pressure and cholesterol. However I only ever eat beef for dinner! I usually have yogurt mixed with cereal or oatmeal for breakfast, with berries or a banana. For lunch I have soup or a salad. I will usually only partake in red meat 1-2 times a week for dinner. I do notice a difference after I eat it though, in that I feel better. I am iron deficient and red meat is a saving grace for me. Like the article says though moderation is the key! Plus not eating it in the form of bacon double cheeseburgers is also key people!

4.) TRUE STORY! I consider myself healthy. Aside from the freaky sick issues I get once a month due to being a lady, I am healthy! My BMI is around 28, so while I do have a couple pounds to lose I need to lose close to 40 to fall into the “heathly” catagory. If you have met me in real life there is no chance I have 40lbs to lose. 20 yes 40 NEVER! So this BMI thing is crazy. I have played sports my whole life and have a bit of muscle tone in my legs, I am aware my thighs will only get fat or muscular, never rail thin and I am cool with that because that is the way I was made. Hey my Dad was an All-State Soccer Player and my Mom was a dancer, as was I. There was no shot at skinny minny legs for this kid!

So those are my thoughts, while yes some past advice may not hold true anymore, the general public is going to read this article and discount the benefits of drinking water. I challenge soda drinkers to replace all soda’s when you go out to eat with waters and see how you feel after two weeks! I can assure you you only feel better! Plus I don’t think there is a person alive that eats oatmeal or quinoa and does not want a drink during or after!

2 Responses to “Nutritional Advice from Oprah”

  1. Kim March 3, 2012 at 1:07 pm #

    Your thighs are not fat by any measure. You have such a slim build hip and thigh wise. I think you are beautiful.

    • Alex K March 3, 2012 at 4:35 pm #

      Yes that is true right now! I noticed yesterday that as my waist and legs are getting smaller and my chest is staying the same size, I would look a lot smaller with smaller boobs!

Leave a Reply

