A base run is all you need.

10 Mar

Sometime a base run IS all you need. When I say base run, I mean a slow run that builds upon your base, endurance and mileage. Today after work I ran with Krystle my co-worker and good friend who will be running the Surftown Half Marathon with me in September. She is totally just getting back into running and I am so proud of her!

We did day 1 week 4 of ease into 10k together. It was hard! It was really cold here at 4:30pm, which is when we started. So I decided we would keep it slow and steady. Plus as someone getting back into running I wanted to make sure she learned how to even her pace, as she ran and not take off as fast as you can when you begin! I had a problem with that when I started up again and Dan helped me through it. I took her on Dan and my regular running trail which is a 3.2 mile loop. I figured we would get at least that in the 45 minutes alloted and we did. We ended up going 3.5 miles in 45:08. While not my best by any means I felt good when it was over and fresh. I could easily talk the whole time and felt strong. I was so proud of her for doing so well! She was so nervous at work today before we left, but I assured her I would be there for her and I was. Even though it slowed me down a bit it showed me how far I have come. To be able to be almost at 3.5 miles and feel like I could easily run another 1 or 2 is HUGE for me at my current level. I am so amped up and excited to see my progress and also hers. I am also glad I found a running buddy just as nerdy as me who wants to listen to me babel about all the info I have researched over the last three months!

I hope everyone else was able to have runs that were just as awesome, or just an awesome day in general!!

It is now 9:39 and I am SO sleepy! I will post tomorrow night, as I have work tomorrow and chores. I hope everyone enjoys SPRINGING AHEAD!

2 Responses to “A base run is all you need.”

  1. runningcorgi March 11, 2012 at 6:47 pm #

    She is lucky to have a running buddy like you! And you’ll enjoy running more with your running buddy, too. Good for you both.

    • Alex K March 11, 2012 at 7:21 pm #

      Thank you so much for your kind words, and also for all of your support. I am lucky to have found wonderful people like you in the running community to help me along! 🙂

Leave a Reply

