Important Lessons on Hydrating!

12 Mar

This morning (it is my day off), I got up and readied myself to go to my trainer appt. It was tough and I was extremely tired, more so than usual! I had a little bit of water while I was there. Then I came home and ate a cliff bar, because I was not very hungry. After that I relaxed a bit and ended up falling asleep. When I woke up I went for a run. I of course filled this water bottle. Which I stole from Dan my Aunt Kim got him a three pack of these, and they have really nice squishy cases so you do not have to feel the hot or cold if you do not want to. Plus I had to steal the blue one, since I love blue things and purple things!

              

I know some people do not like to carry water bottles and weigh them down, but I really do not even notice it.

The fact that I went without drinking was really a bad plan. I hit a half mile and my feet started to hurt, then my legs started to cramp. My shoes are pretty new, so I know it isn’t them. I take a drink of water and it is burning my throat. Let me say I will never de-hydrate myself again! The run became more of a run-walk and then a straight walk. I went from my house to my grandmothers, so that I could visit her. It felt like absolute torture, and horrible, I was getting super discouraged! I ended up going 2.20 in 32:41, which is almost a 15 minute pace around 14:47. I was discouraged but realized it used to take me 14 minutes to run 1 mile, and I have to love my accomplishments! I mean everyone has a bad run, and I have not had one in so long, so I was due.

The whole way to my grandmothers I thought, she will just drive me home just give up.

Then I got there, and decided I would just relax for a bit drink some water, enjoy her company and run home. I was so happy I decided to run home. This time I ended up going 2.21 miles in 24 minutes, a 10:58 pace. I still had to walk and run, but this time was more running. I just kept telling myself you can do this and you can relax when you get home. It really did help to stay positive and believe in myself!

Plus pink shoes, and orange shorts with purple panels are always an amazing fashion statement you must share with the world!

Here are some highlights from my run:

Saw a dead raccoon, first I thought it was alive and freaked out, but I was lucky I looked down because I was about to step on it!

Secondly on the way out and back down my driveway I realized the woods around our house look like the hunger games, creepy!

   

People who drive are either nice to runners or jerks!

-a couple cars beeped and waved to me

-three cars drove at me, the road i live on is really busy so I minimize my time on it.

Finally I was home and had to take out my little snuggle muffin of a dog! He loves warm weather so much and really enjoys being outside. This was his reaction when I tried to take him inside.

A 11 pound dog pulling you is actually surprisingly strong, plus I don’t want him wiggling out of that harness, because he can run so fast!

That was my day off, very nice and productive! I will make dinner soon and relax with Dan when he gets home from the gym. SWEET LIFE.

4 Responses to “Important Lessons on Hydrating!”

  1. runningcorgi March 12, 2012 at 11:36 pm #

    Those orange shorts are Adidas shorts your mom bought for you? They are so cute!!

    • Alex K March 13, 2012 at 6:28 am #

      no those ones are Nike tempo shorts I bought off amazon! I love them.

  2. Kim March 13, 2012 at 1:49 pm #

    Oh Alex… You do make me laugh… SWEET LIFE INDEED!

    • Alex K March 13, 2012 at 2:00 pm #

      Ha I am surprised you read past the Finny picture. I was not sure about starting out with that one since I know you just read the blog for them!

Leave a Reply

