Running Group

14 Mar

If you are poor, like I am right now after paying off two credit cards and my registration fees for my car and motorcycle, you can start your own running group like I did. It is much more cost effective to get your friends psyched about running and then ask them to join you on your runs! Both of them are beginners but have a nice base so we started off easy with Day 1 Week 1 of ease into 10k and they did AWESOME! I am so proud of both of you girls! It is also so nice to have running buddies! Dan quit on me since hes more into weight lifting and would like to lose a bit more weight before getting back into running, since his knee is bothering him.  The girls did great and I did stress the importance of slower running and pacing yourself so you do not burn out. When we finished we had gone 2.25 miles in 28:37, thats a 12:43 pace. I was really happy with that time for all of us since they are just starting. It is also right on pace with how I did the first time I did week 1 day 1 ease into 10k. That I did on the treadmill though, so I am happy that running outside with harder incline was almost as good as the treadmill!

Plus the girls are really excited and we planned our next run for Friday! I knew doing all my nerdy research would pay off and I am so glad they want to listen to my running junk.  I will be running the Color Me Rad 5k with Nicole and the Surftown Half Marathon will be run with Krystle. I have no doubt Nicole will be more than ready for May 26th and Krystle and my goal is just to finish the half. I do have a race coming up next Saturday with my friends from college and will talk more about that next week.

Combine tapering with my special lady time and its a bad week to be Dan next week! Ouch….look out world cranky lady coming soon!

Everyone have a great night :).

2 Responses to “Running Group”

  1. runningcorgi March 14, 2012 at 10:14 pm #

    Good job, ladies!!

  2. Nicole Oppelt March 15, 2012 at 10:15 am #

    Yay, I made a blog! Feeling so much better about running after last night’s first run with you–can’t wait for tomorrow’s!

    PS I think I figured out how to get notifications of comments on here lol

Leave a Reply

