Rainbow Cupcakes Recipe!

18 Mar

Yesterday was St. Patricks Day and I brought two kinds of cupcakes to work. For the second kind, and to make kids more attracted to these ones, I made them rainbows! Plus mixing them with some funfetti frosting really upped the appeal! Finally before pictures and the recipe this whole giving up sugar for lent has been really hard! ESPECIALLY TIMES LIKE THESE! Plus the recipe was so easy, which I really needed seeing as how I still had Irish Soda Bread and Car Bomb Cupcakes to bake at 10pm on a friday night, I get tired early!

Rainbow Cupcakes: 

1 Box White Cake mix….I used Duncan Hines

2 Eggs

1 Cup Sour Cream….full fat not light

1/2 Cup Milk

1/3 Cup Vegetable Oil

THAT IS ALL!

Combine all ingredients in mixer beat on high speed for 3 minutes or until batter becomes thick!

Once you decide how many colors you want split the batter evenly between bowls. I decided to go for 4, as the recipe makes 14-16 cupcakes but I wanted 12 large ones. Next mix the food coloring into each bowl and mix together until you get the desired color. (If you want to make these for Easter you could go for more pastel colors).

I used red, green, blue and yellow.

Then fill the muffin tins with paper liners and layer your batter. The trick to it not sticking to your fingers is to dip them into water. Then you rub the batter to smooth it down. I went for different color combos in each cupcake and was not worried if some colors were thicker than others.

When you are ready place the cupcakes in the oven and bake to package instructions.

 

When they are cooled frost with your favorite frosting. I only had enough butter to pull off a buttercream for my other cupcakes so I went to a canned frosting, and the best one at that! Funfetti is always a winner.

Plus those sprinkles keep it super happy!

These cupcakes can be made to cheer you up, celebrate a child’s birthday or just anything, they look gorgeous and like you slaved away all day to pull this off and only you and I need to know you did not!

The blue and yellow were a bit too thin on this one, but it was randomly pulled and I took a picture thanks to my co-worker Erika volunteering to eat it! Still cool looking though!

One Response to “Rainbow Cupcakes Recipe!”

  1. Kim March 18, 2012 at 5:32 pm #

    They look so pretty!

Leave a Reply

