Irish Carbomb Cupcakes Recipe!

19 Mar

Sorry I did not upload this last night or even Saturday I really did mean to, but fun with friends this weekend took precedent to blogging! As you know I brought these cupcakes to work Saturday for our St. Patricks Day party, I thought 24 would be more than enough cupcakes, since they do include alcohol I was not sure many people would be interested. Boy was I wrong! They were gone within 2 hours! The recipe is labor intensive, as you are making the batter, a ganache and a buttercream, but totally worth it!!

Any recipe that begins with melting butter into Guinness is perfection already….thats the kind of butterbeer I want Harry Potter eat your heart out!

I also lucked out immensely because Ghiradeli Chocolate Baking Bars (semi-sweet) were on sale at BigY and ended up being much cheaper than bakers brand for what I am pretty sure was the first time ever! Plus that is seriously the best chocolate ever and any ganache made with it is bound to be perfection!!!

The finished product! My frosting came out a bit thick and that was what I wanted so I rounded in on with a spoon rather than pipping it. It meant I sacrificed looks but added taste due to the copious thickness of the frosting!

Now onto the recipe…..typed out on its own so you can copy and paste and print it and make them over and over, trust me you will want to!

Irish Carbomb Cupcakes….Ganache Recipe from The Brown Eyed Baker

Makes: 24 cupcakes

Cupcakes:

1 Cup Guinness Stout

1 Cup Unsalted Butter, softened

1 Cup Herseys Cocoa Powder

2 Cups All Purpose Flour

2 Cups Sugar

1 Teaspoon Baking Soda

1 teaspoon salt

2 eggs

2/3 Cup Sour Cream

Whiskey Ganache Filling:

8 Ounces Semi-Sweet Chocolate

2/3 Cup Heavy Cream

2 tablespoons butter, room temp

2 teaspoons Irish Whiskey

Baileys Frosting:

4 sticks unsalted butter softened

4 1/2 cups powdered sugar

6 Tablespoons Baileys

Cupcakes:

To make the cupcakes preheat your oven to 350* Line you muffin tins with paper liners. Heat the Guinness and Butter together over medium heat until combined and simmering. Add Cocoa and whisk until smooth. Set aside to cool a bit.

Whisk the remaining dry ingredients into a bowl and combine. In a mixer beat the eggs and sour cream until combined. Add the beer and chocolate mixture to the egg mixture and beat just until combined. Add the flour mixture a bit at a time until mixed then use a rubber spatula to combine completely. Put into muffin tins and bake 17-20 minutes until toothpick comes out clean. Cool on wire racks. Your cupcake liners will turn dark, it is just the beer cooking through and not burned bottoms.

*Note, you can add 1.5 teaspoons baking soda to get the cupcakes to rise. If you keep it to 1 the centers will fall and you can pipe the ganache right into them, otherwise you have to core the center and fill then replace the tops, I like the tops to stay flat. I also did not have my 1 inch frosting tip as I would us the back side for that. The sides will still rise to the correct height and you are not sacrificing taste, trust me!

Ganache:

Finely chop the chocolate and transfer it to heat safe bowl. Heat the cream until simmering and our it over chocolate. Let it sit for 1 minute then combine with a rubber spatula from the center outward, until smooth. Add the butter and whiskey and mix until smooth. Set aside and let thicken up until it is thick enough to be pipped through a bag. (I used a sandwich bag with one end cut off, super easy. Just keep the cut very small for you can push it into the cupcake.)

Frosting:

This is my favorite frosting and I am usually not a fan of powdered sugar frostings so this was a big find for me around 3 years ago!

Whip butter in your mixer on medium speed for around 5 minutes using your whisk attachment. The butter will get stuck in the whisk as it gets softer so remove it with a rubber spatula often. When whipped to a frosting consistency, mix a little powdered sugar in at a time. When that is all combined and fluffy add the baileys and whip until desired consistency.

Fill your cupcakes and frost them. It really could not be any simpler! People are so surprised and curious to try them and I promise you they will become a fast favorite. I have been making these cupcakes for 3 years now and first came up with the idea for my Aunt Kim’s birthday as Guinness is her favorite beer. I also made Key lime frosted cupcakes with vanilla bean cake and a fresh strawberry center. If I get requests I will add that recipe as well. The cupcake recipe I adapted from a bunch I had found until I figured out the best way to get the most moist cupcake possible! I hope you try them and let me know how it goes!

2 Responses to “Irish Carbomb Cupcakes Recipe!”

  1. Kim March 20, 2012 at 10:17 pm #

    Yumm Guinness . Had one in Boston the other day and it was grand.

    • Alex K March 20, 2012 at 10:18 pm #

      well I did rework all those recipes for the perfect cupckakes for your bday!

Leave a Reply

