Tapering and being a girl make me an extremely cranky-pants mcgee!

19 Mar

Literally after I hit publish on this I am going to bed! This day has been ROUGH! First off the race is this weekend pumped about that for sure. I enjoy running to extreme amounts and am beyond excited to see my college buddies and for Dan to meet them! However I REALLY dislike tapering. I can only imagine how angry I will be when my mileage is higher than 3-5 miles a day and I have to taper if I am already not a nice person to be around right now! Not to mention I had to cancel running group today! BOO!

I kind of love this shirt right now and wish I had that to wear every day this week! After work I decided I would run on the treadmill, you see I had to cancel my beloved running group due to my special pain in the ass lady time! It was a week and a half late, you do not even know how worried I was on how I would run a half marathon 7 months pregnant! That would be a sight to see huh!?!?!

So I have been feeling pretty sick all day since it hit me hard and is wearing me down. The plan was to run 3.5-4 miles and then rest and be happy! Then taper down the rest of this week….not what happened. I decided during my warm up it was not going to happen and opted to do Day 1 Week 2 of ease into 10k, these workouts were extremely easy for me the first time not so much this time, but that was to be expected!

I knew I would need distractions and I knew it would easily be close to or go over an hour. So I set myself up officially!

Waterbottle, lipgloss, purple iphone charger run into my phone so I can watch Murder She Wrote on Netflix…do NOT pretend you don’t love that show more than anything! I will not believe you at all. Oh and some powerade energy blasts for some energy and because I havent felt like eating much today!

I figured I was good to go but my body did not cooperate, so I finished the workout early at 31:22 instead of 35:00. I went 2.75 miles and am okay with that but feel like I should have done better. Also because of super crampy legs half way through I had to take the incline down to 0%….not happy. I did get it done though and that is something to be proud of I suppose!

Oh well there is always tomorrow and on the plus side it will not be the first day of my lady visitor like last race, so I do expect to get a much better time….something positive came from this. Especially since I have been throwing up since I finished running…on that note time for bed! Sorry for the Debbie Downer post I am just so done with today, tapering and lady issues!!!

2 Responses to “Tapering and being a girl make me an extremely cranky-pants mcgee!”

  1. Kim March 20, 2012 at 10:22 pm #

    Non runner asks what the heck is tapering? I’ll gey your answer tomorrow. Love yah

    • Alex K March 20, 2012 at 10:25 pm #

      Taking your mileage down before the race. So instead of 4-5 mile days I’m doing 2-2.5 days maybe a three tomorrow since I don’t plan on running at all Friday and minimally Thursday love you too aunt Kim! Glad your my number one blog fan! 🙂

Leave a Reply

