Happy Birthday to….Part 1!

30 Mar

Happy Birthday to my Grandma Fran or Franianne as she is called. She is the greatest lady ever and my personal hero. Always has been always will be! My grandma taught me how to sew, bake, and partially how to cook, the other person as my mom. She inspired me through my childhood by telling me how she worked through the 50’s and 60’s and also got a credit card in her own name when the company informed her, my grandfather had to be on it also she said no and fought until she could have one without him! She also went back to work after having three kids and is an amazing Mother and Grandmother.

She married my grandfather in the 50’s and wore an amazing dress. I loved it so much that I had this dress designed for my reception to replicate it.

The top and waistline were designed to look like her dress and the bottom was the original bottom offered by the designer! I loved that dress, and wish I had a picture of my grandma in hers to compare it to!

I am pretty sure my grandmother was my first best friend, especially since my parents and I lived with my grandparents while their house was being built. My grandma is also super cool because:

  • She loves ACDC- Her favorite band
  • Her Cell Phone Ring is- Flo-rida Low….yes the apple bottom jeans boots with the fur song, she dances to it everytime it rings!
  • She has a cheese head and proudly wears it! Plus we support each other in football no matter what!

Sorry about the glare! For those of you who dont know or watch sports she is a Green Bay Packer Fan and I am a New York GIants Fan! See post HERE on playoffs together!

 

So in summary I love my grandmother very much and thank her for inspiring me to be a better woman and to be a strong woman who gets what I want and love my family…all while being super cool! I know you are jealous of how cool Grandma Fran is! 🙂

6 Responses to “Happy Birthday to….Part 1!”

  1. Kim March 30, 2012 at 9:33 pm #

    I’m jealous of how cool Mom is.

    • Alex K March 31, 2012 at 7:11 am #

      Yea me too because I feel like me in my 70s is going to be so different than grandma right now!

  2. Tamarra March 31, 2012 at 9:10 am #

    That was beautiful. Made me cry happy tears – thank you! Love, T.

    • Alex K March 31, 2012 at 9:16 am #

      Thanks Tamarra! See you guys tonight for the party! We moved it to mom and dads house because of the snow!

      • Tamarra March 31, 2012 at 9:24 am #

        Thanks Alex! See you then! Bob and I are going running right now. You have inspired us greatly!

  3. runningcorgi March 31, 2012 at 10:05 am #

    Happy birthday to your super cool grandmother!!

Leave a Reply

