IT Band Problems!

30 Mar

Today started out badly. There will be no picture with this post, I appologize! The one god thing this morning was that when I left the house at 5:50am to go see Jeff for my workout it was starting to get light out….thank you spring! The bad things about today were….

  • Forgetting to bring water with me…luckily Jeff let me borrow a waterbottle he had there and filled it for me.
  • The half mile warm up run we did felt like pure torture! I think this has more to do with me hating the first mile of every run though, since it was just hard not painful!
  • I could not finish a full set of lunges because of my IT Bands! I knew this was becoming a problem, but I was refusing to address it and hoping it would go away. I will be purchasing a foam roller, tennis ball and softball ASAP!
  • Also along the same lines my achilles  in my left foot is bothering me to no end.

All these things made me glad I stop and asked Jeff about them, as he showed me stretches and told me what to do to fix the issues and prevent worse ones! That is the first step, asking for help and admitting something does not feel right. I guess I would rather do half a workout well, then a whole work out half assed! Plus an injury will keep me from working out all together. So please if something bothers you during training address it! I will be much more mindful of the way my feet and legs feel from now on….because 2 days off from running is already not worth it. I definitely could not handle an extended period of time for any type of recovery!

2 Responses to “IT Band Problems!”

  1. runningcorgi March 30, 2012 at 10:35 am #

    Oh that nasty ITBS! Good you asked about to your trainer and got some advice. Foam roller and right stretching can help a lot. Get better and good luck!

  2. Kim March 30, 2012 at 9:15 pm #

    IT Band problems: The drummer got caught making out with the lead guitar’s girlfriend at the wrap party.

Leave a Reply

