Back to running!!!!!!

2 Apr

I dont think I could put enough exclamation points into the title of this post! I am so happy I decided to run today, and that Jeff told me I could…that is why I decided to. I am still having IT band issues, and it is traveling to my knee now so I was really worried. I knew today I would have to ask Jeff about it. Plus being as tough on myself as I am I was guilt tripping myself bad! So after our super good training session we were stretching and talking about the issues I have been having and he said as long as I stretch and run at a good even pace I would be fine. I started my warm up slower than usual and kept my pace at around 5.8 during my interval runs and slower during the walks at 3.5-4.0 instead of 4.0-4.5. I was feeling really good and decided at the half way point to take my runs up to 5.8-6.0-6.2 and kept steady at 6.2. Pretty decent run and ended up doing 2.45 miles in 29:05. The random time and distance is due to my ease into 10k program. I am on Day 2 week 1 and will be finishing it this time! I doubt I will taper much next week as I am getting to some runs that are over 5k distance and need to push it to prepare for the half, all while keeping it easy of my poor legs!

OH HEY ME IN THE TREADMILL! Not too shabby on the pace and distance so I was happy because of my sore legs, non running for almost a week, etc. SMALL VICTORIES PEOPLE!!!!!!!

Happy workouts to everyone and training as well, if that is your thing!!!!

ALSO I HAVE A GOOD IT BAND STRETCH JEFF GAVE ME….it is super awkward looking but really effective, so I will have to have Dan take a picture.

3 Responses to “Back to running!!!!!!”

  1. ronaleeakarose April 6, 2012 at 5:49 pm #

    Happy return to running !!!
    I have been out of town for 4 weeks and so out of my routine for walking/running. I am hoping that it won’t take me too long to get back into the swing of things.

    You did great on that run and you are inspiring me to hit the treadmill very soon.

  2. ronaleeakarose April 6, 2012 at 5:51 pm #

    ackkkk… my comment didn’t save, now I have to remember what I said.

    Happy return to running !!
    Since I was out of town for 4 weeks I am so out of my routine. You have inspired me to get back on that treadmill and see what I can do.

    Ronalee

    • Alex K April 6, 2012 at 7:10 pm #

      Your comment saved, I just had to approve it before it posted. Thank you so much for following my training and also good luck getting back on track! I know you will do just great!!!!!

Leave a Reply

