Proud of myself!

29 Apr

You all know how hard I can be on myself when it comes to appearance and working out. With the injury I took on yesterday morning I was not too hopeful about todays run, but it went well all things considered. I wanted to go 6.2 miles today, but my hip and shin were just not having it! You can read about the injury HERE. So I decided to wrap it up at 3.1, I also did my new trail again. However this time I did it backwards and that meant a lot of hill work! I was okay with it and decided if I had to walk I had to walk and I could not be disappointed with the time I got no matter what.

The run started out well I did a 5 minute warm up walk then worked in 2 to 1 intervals. 2 minutes running, 2 minutes walking and that worked out well for the first two miles. The last one I walked the majority of but even doing so I was able to get a pretty decent time in providing that I have an injury and worked in some nasty hills! All these things can only make me stronger though. After the run I stretched well and iced my hip since that was just a bit sore.

The run went down like this:

3.14 miles 37:33 for a pace of 11:59

Mile 1: 12:30

Mile 2: 11:38

Mile 3: 12:14- GREAT PACE FOR ONLY RUNNING AROUND .15 and walking!

All in all a great run and I have nothing to be disappointed in with this performance. It was hard both physically and mentally. It also made me realize until this hip/shin bruise is healed I am taking it to the treadmill with low inclines to not injury it worse and still get in training.

Now I am going to lie down for a bit I am so exhausted, then dinner with Dan and the Karnolt Parents!

2 Responses to “Proud of myself!”

  1. Kim April 29, 2012 at 9:46 pm #

    How was the chili cook off? I should have remembered it… I wanted to go. Hope your leg feels better. Love yah.

  2. Kim April 29, 2012 at 9:48 pm #

    Just to let you know I am really loving my scentsy warmer.

Leave a Reply

