Broccoli Cheese Soup and Bisquick Biscuits Recipe!

28 Jun

This is the greatest broccoli cheese soup recipe of all time….and not just because it is mine! No not at all because of that ;).

It has everything a good broc/cheese soup should have, thickness, cheesiness and of course depending on how you like your soup lots and lots of broccoli, some even whole, if you don’t like it that way you can modify it easily!

So lets get to business!!!! But last let me say, if you are going to venture into the world of Broccoli Cheese soup, dont whimp out on me and use LOW FAT SHREDDED CHEESE, use VELVEETA! Truly the only choice!

Ingredients:

30 ounces of Broccoli I used 16oz frozen and 14oz fresh because it was what I had and turned out Perfect.

72oz Chicken Broth

1.5 pounds Velveeta cheese (1.5 blocks I buy mine at Costco you get two!)

2 Onions (medium)

6 tablespoons butter or margarine

1 cup all purpose flour, I used whole wheat tasted the same.

2 cups milk

a bit of black pepper to taste.

Now for pictures then the recipe:

Raw and frozen Broccoli simmering!

Onions, Flour, Butter and Milk cooked until thick….YUM!!!!

All ingredients mixed, before the blender joined the party!

My friend the immersion blender!

Directions:

Simmer broth and broccoli in soup pot for 20 minutes. While doing that chop onions and melt butter in a skillet, add onions and cook to desired translucency or brown if you prefer. I like to keep my onions larger and only cook until soft. I use either a regular blender or immersion blender so it takes care of the size. Add flour to the butter until pasty. I added half a cup to the butter and set the other half cup aside to thicken while cooking. Add milk to pan and stir until thick and creamy! Once done add to soup pot stir in.

Finally cut cheese into cubes and add to pot and melt! Once creamy use your blender immersion is the easiest choice. Stick it down into the pot to puree up your broccoli to desired consistency. I like to keep a bunch of pieces whole. Finally add the last 1/2 cup of flour mixed with a little hot water to the pot. Once added keep simmering and stirring until you reach desired thickness. Then add pepper stir and serve. Or if your me make biscuits!!!!

I love bisquick, if you have some follow the directions on the box and viola all set!

Soup Done, prebaking of the rolls!

 AND THE FINISHED PRODUCT….

Usually I would steam some broccoli and put that in the bowl then pour the soup over it! I enjoy my BROCCOLI!!!

That roll has butter and jelly on it, I am a freak and I dip it into the soup….DELICIOUS!

Enjoy the soup, and just because it is hot we have AC so I can always make whatever I feel like!

OH AND IGNORE THAT CLOROX BOTTLE ON THE FLOOR OUR AC GRATE THERE IS BROKEN AND FALLS DOWN, THAT IS KEEPING IT IN PLACE!

One Response to “Broccoli Cheese Soup and Bisquick Biscuits Recipe!”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. One Recipe Three Ways…. « Food, Run, Fun - July 2, 2012

    […] easy, without spending a lo of money. The answer was clearly freezer cooking. You can check out my broccoli cheese soup recipe, it freezes very well! Yesterday I was looking in the fridge and had some onions and left […]

Leave a Reply

