Let’s FINALLY talk about some RUNNING!!!!

3 Jul

Today I was feeling better than yesterday but slightly more tired while running. I was so happy to run back to back days! I will tell you my stats at the end of this post. The bulk of this post is about the new issue of Runner’s World. It came yesterday and gave me all sorts of new motivation! It is the half-marathon special!!!! Since RW is putting on their own Half they have all these tips and advice for running your best half, and even a beginners training program!

The half is Americas Favorite Distance and I think it will be mine as well! I don’t really have an addictive personality, but I am addicted to running, and training for my next race as well! I am scared of but also looking forward to my first half, and am excited because it is in Rhode Island on a beach, my music and the scenery will be enough to not psych myself out for at least the first 5 miles! 🙂

I am going to follow their program and get back on track. I am not running either of these races for times, I am running them to finish them. I am really competitive but know that I am not the fastest by any means. The accomplishment of finishing the race is what I really am striving for, and will mean a lot to me when I am finished. I also plan on doing 1 marathon EVENTUALLY. That seems really daunting but I know I work hard and stay dedicated to something, so I will be able to do it….walk breaks and all :).

They also had a section on getting back to running after a break. My break due to illness was a bit less than 2 weeks.

They said in order to get bak into it after a 1-2 week break run two to three minutes per mile slower than you would and half the distance. Before I got sick I was around 4-5 miles at least 2 times a week. So yesterday I ran 2.69 miles in 30 minutes. For a pace of 11:09, that seems about right as before I got sick I was running in the low 10 minute mile range.

Todays run was a little better, I took more walk breaks becuase I was tired, but was able to make up that time with short bursts of speed that I could sustain for at least .25 of a mile. Which for how I was feeling last week amazed me! Today I went 2.77 miles in 30 minutes! A pace of 10:49…not bad and not back to where I was so I still didnt push myself super hard I did what I knew I was capable of.

I am trying to be more positive lately, about everything. My life, my running, and my outlook on myself and accomplishing goals I set. I am done sabotaging myself because I do not believe in ME. Plenty of other people out there do and its time I did as well because I am worth it….with that said this has become my new motto.

4 Responses to “Let’s FINALLY talk about some RUNNING!!!!”

  1. Brian Beatty July 3, 2012 at 12:00 pm #

    congrats on getting back into your training!

  2. Tamarra July 4, 2012 at 8:39 am #

    Good for you Alex! Glad to hear your back on track & feeling good about yourself. Your very special and I am so proud of you. I myself am up to running almost 3 miles now which is a great accomplishment for me. Your determination gives me strength to accomplish my goals. Thanks for that!

    • Alex K July 4, 2012 at 11:05 am #

      Aw thanks Tamarra! That makes me so happy to hear! almost three miles mean you can do another 5k with me soon 🙂

Leave a Reply

