Running without a race to train for….

10 Jul

Is really hard. Just putting that out there, I lose a lot of motivation without a close race coming up. With my half marathon coming up in 2 months (eeeek) I knew it was time to try and kick it in gear. My solution was to sign up for a 5k this Thursday. It is at the same venue where I ran color me rad…..well next to it at the Cabela’s. So this morning it was time for a run. I was going to run last night at 9:30 but Dan told me I shouldn’t get wound up before bedtime….yes I am a small child!

This is the race info taken from Hartford Marathon Foundations website…

Come join us at the First Annual Rentschler Airfield 5K, presented by Cabela’s. The race will start and end at Cabela’s, 475 East Hartford Boulevard North, East Hartford, CT. Discover your fastest time on this very flat course that winds through the historic Rentschler Airfield runways. Unique awards will be provided by Fox Meadow Farm of Vermont, in addition, Cabela’s will award gift certificates to the top three overall male and female. After the race enjoy an elk burger by Cabela’s, Faddy’s Donuts and Ice Cream, and a beer from the Olde Burnside Brewing Company.

The Event benefits the East Hartford Police Officer Brian A. Aselton Memorial Scholarship Fund, Inc. which provides scholarships to children of police officers and local criminal justice students.

Sounds pretty awesome, and really what I need to kick my butt back into gear. (I probably will NOT be enjoying an Elk burger ever though!) I was super mad at myself today for being so lazy lately, yes I was sick and blah blah but I need to get going. I love running and working out and am all around happier when I do. So I pushed it hard on this mornings run. I took it to the treadmill and went 2.80 miles in 28 minutes, which is a 9:38 pace…AMAZING for me! I have been working on getting my pace up and it happened. Plus it was nice that I didn’t feel like I was going to vomit when I was done!

If anyone wants to join me for a fun race let me know! Sorry I have no pictures today except for this….

I was watching the today show this morning and saw these are the Olympics Opening Ceremony outfits…these are a bit crazy for my tastes. I never understood why they don’t make them either look like athletes or look dressy. This just looks like a costume, and like we are trying to look what Ralph Lauren envisions British people to dress like. No more costumes! Its about the sports not pageantry!

In other news I am SO EXCITED FOR THE OLYMPICS! Especially the Marathon….My girl Kara Goucher is AMAZING!  Hopefully her and Meb Keflezighi can bring home the gold to USA! Here’s hoping!!!! You better believe I watched the qualifiers and will be watching or DVRing the race! (depending on wether or not I am working.)

Speaking of which I am off to work until 8pm! Have a great Day everyone!!!

Leave a Reply

