Question to my runner friends….

16 Jul

What is better for hands free watering while running?!?!?!?! I am so sick of carrying a water bottle while running and am looking at two options. Please note I drink a lot of water while I run, I just drink a lot in general!

The options:

Option #1: Nathan Hydration Belt!

Pros: can carry fuel, on your waist, light weight

Cons: Concerned about it falling, will drop one or more of the bottles while running, I am clumsy as all get out!

Option #2: Camelbak 50 oz Hydration Pak

Pros: On my back, sweet colors also in lime green and blue, LOTS OF WATER, will not drop it

Cons: Heavy, no storage, Thats pretty much all I can think of.

I saw a woman in the last 5k I did with one on. I am just not sure which one is better! I dont want to be fumbling with either so if anyone has any suggestions, or has used either let me know!!!!

3 Responses to “Question to my runner friends….”

  1. runningcorgi July 17, 2012 at 9:09 am #

    I always carry water bottles when I go outside to run. I mean always, not just on the hot summer days. I definitely prefer the hydration belt over the handheld bottle. I have two – Nathan and Amphipod. They are both good but I prefer the Amphipod hydration belt with 4 bottles. I love it! It is much easier to grab bottles off the belt than from Nathan’s. I just bought a bigger pouch for my phone. I have been using this for years and I am very satisfied. No bouncing and it feels comfortable. I recommended this one to my friends and they loved it too. You can check this link. http://www.amphipod.com/products/hydration/hydration-belts/runlite-hydration-belts/runlite-4
    Don’t worry about losing bottles. One of my friends is the queen of losing things and even she didn’t lose any yet šŸ™‚ And you can buy individual bottle if you do lose one or two. šŸ˜‰

    I don’t have a camelback pack but I’m considering buying one because my two corgis drink lots of water when I take them to run with me. I saw a DM friend’s recommendation of this one. It has 3 pockets and is light šŸ™‚
    http://www.amazon.com/Nathan-50-IR-COL-Intensity-Race-Vest/dp/B004JS1H38/ref=pd_sim_sg_1
    Hope this help. Happy running!!

    • Alex K July 17, 2012 at 11:04 am #

      Thanks a lot Chris!!! I will look into those as well! Right now based off yours, Dailymile and facebook comments and messages I think I am leaning toward buying one of each. They will be good for hiking vs short vs long runs and then I can always have an option! I do love that the belt has storage for fuel/ID for racing since it is a pain sticking things in my socks!

      • runningcorgi July 17, 2012 at 1:25 pm #

        I’m glad you’re leaning toward buying one of each! It’s always good to have more options šŸ™‚ I’m going to buy a hydration pack for hiking too. I have been using my hydration belt for long runs and didn’t have any water shortage. But 2 corgis changed that šŸ™‚ One good things about having a hydration belt with multiple bottles is you can bring different drinks. In the summer, I often fill 2 bottles with cold water and ice cubes and the other 2 bottles with a sports drink to replenish electrolytes after sweating a lot. And when I ran marathons, I only took 2 bottles with me. One bottle filled with water was for when I would feel thirsty between water stations – when the bottle got empty, volunteers at the water stations poured water into my bottle – , and the other bottle was for storing energy gels (unopened). The front pocket was useful to store my ID and things like my phone or travel size tissues. I like the Amphipod belt because its front stretch pocket is longer than Nathan’s. I use that pocket to put my car keys and gels for a long run. Anyway, hydration is really important and don’t forget to drink BEFORE you feel thirsty. Keep cool and healthy!! I always enjoy your blog!!!

Leave a Reply

