Defying your own expectations!

21 Aug

So after yesterday’s run I was tired and disappointed in myself for not running over three miles. After a little bit of a rest I decided to try out the treadmill again and see if the problem with my shins and calfs would persist and it did not! So I went 2.20 miles in 25 minutes! So proud of myself after that because I was able to do 5.58 miles in One hour and four minutes! AMAZING!!!!

This was a huge turning point for me! I always talk about not sabotaging myself and yet I do, but not today :). I also took my own advice and went back to a very important lesson I learned when I first started running.

Running is a mental battle, you have to push through what your mind tells you is your limitations and keep going. If you can do that you can yield some amazing results!

I have a renewed confidence in myself and my abilities and am so happy that I can see myself in a positive light. Especially running wise. Everyone is hard on themselves and when you can be proud of yourself that is always a huge plus for accomplishing goals and being all around happier!

After the run I treated myself to some left over pizza and some chocolate almond milk. Sounds gross but I drank the milk after the pizza not with it that would be gross!!

This is a pizza a local restaurant makes with tomato and hot sauce, crispy chicken, jalapenos and onions. I love it and I HATE onions, but they make it!

Mom had bought it for us when we went to her house Saturday night before she left for her trip. I guess I was missing her last night, so I needed to have it for dinner. 😉

_______________________________________________________

Have you done anything lately that has impressed you?

2 Responses to “Defying your own expectations!”

  1. Ronalee Duncan August 21, 2012 at 9:30 pm #

    Awesome job Alex. I have been avoiding the treadmill lately and I know that it is time to get back on it and run. You are an inspiration.

    • Alex K August 21, 2012 at 10:04 pm #

      Thank you so much! I saw you walked 20 miles the other day….that is inspiring!

Leave a Reply

