The Thanksgiving Day Recap!

24 Nov

Thursdays Workout: 4.00 miles in 42:29. Feeling good! 

So Turkey Day had arrived and it was around 7:45 am when my alarm went off so I could bake the Turkey and start my soup in the crock pot!

I pulled this beauty out of our refrigerator in the basement, carried it upstairs and pulled off the lid to see this beauty!

After doing that and dumping the ingredients for soup into my crockpot it was time to get dressed.

This is how I spent most of my morning prep….well clothing wise.

In the world of my shoe rotation it was time for my Saucony’s even though my mizunos would have been a better match fashion wise. BUT running is not a fashion show, especially in your own house.

For this run I wanted to keep an eye on the progression of the food and be able to continue my love affair with Dr. Who, so treadmill it was.

I did a 5k in 34:03 because my body was tired and my legs were not warming up the way I wanted so I took it slow. After that I cranked the treadmill up to a 6% incline until this.

Dr. Who was getting crazy! In other news though the incline bump helped my achieve a 100 calorie burn in a little over 5 minutes. When you know you are going to be eating delicious food thats what you have to do.

After that I set the inlcine back to 1 and ran as hard and as fast as my body would carry me. Until I hit 4 miles. (I planned on going longer, but at this point it was almost 10:15 and I still had some prep and showering before people arrived at noon!)

Not too shabby for a quick workout and almost a whole episode of Dr. Who.

Then it was time to get back to cooking.

This is parmesan pumpkin soup with frizzled prosciutto. Yes the first step of this recipe is to fry up some prosciutto and then cook the onions and garlic in the same oil…..best recipe ever! Plus my Mother and Brother are not pumpkin fans but enjoy this a lot.

I got the recipe out of one of my cookbooks from my bridal shower and there is a link to it here.

Finally everyone arrived and it was time to eat! I dont think we had enough food for the 12 of us…..We had two turkeys by the way.

This was my brother going for seconds so after a heavy soup and first time around these were all the leftovers..I think we had enough just incase anyone was famished!

Here was my plate of deliciousness! (Man was I glad I ran that morning!!)

Corn casserole, green bean casserole, squash casserole, mashed potatoes, a biscuit, turkey, gravy, corn, pineapple stuffing, a stuffing muffin and a dollop of cranberry sauce after the picture. I might have had to take numerous eating breaks but I did make it through that whole plate!

Finny also enjoyed Thanksgiving!! Even though he is not biologically my child I think he learned to make faces at food from me..

Please note the intense look in his eyes while licking stuffing!!!

All and all it was a fantastic Thanksgiving with Family and I was so happy to have it in the new house!!

Leave a Reply

