Stuffin’ Muffin Recipe!

25 Nov

Because I am a genius and tried to make my family ultra happy last Thanksgiving a new tradition has been born! The Stuffin’ Muffin is now a vital part of our Thanksgiving meal! It is also really easy to make and will trick people into thinking you are the greatest chef in the world. Just believe me on that one πŸ™‚

Step one: Depending on how much you are making get a giant pan and your ingredients! These will consist of:

Stuffing mix bags

Jimmy Dean Sausage

Chicken broth

Celery

Onions

Apples

Olive oil

Step two: Warm Olive oil and saute onions and celery and apples in it. Add the apples a bit after the onion and celery as they are already softer.

That knife is my favorite to cook with and I am sad if it is dirty and I have chopping to do.

I did three onions, 6 celery stalks and 4 apples. With two bags of stuffing. You can adjust to your tastes and needs for this recipe!

Step three: Add the sausage once the veggies (and fruit) have had time to cook down a bit and soften. Cook until browned through. Extra steaminess makes it extra good!!

Finally add the bags of stuffing and remove from heat. Mix well with sausage mixture then add broth. I ended up using 2 boxes of chicken broth. The trick here is to full soak all the breading. You do not want anything crispy because it will either burn or dry out when you bake them!

The prebaked finished product. I bake these at 350* until brown and crisp on the top and moist on the inside!!

*This made 3 muffin tins full and a bit extra. Since I had to stuff the turkey as well it was really 2.5 muffin tins and the extra and .5 muffins went into the bird!

SO delicious and certainly a family favorite!

WHAT IS YOUR FAVORITE THANKSGIVING FOOD?
mine is stuffing or my grandma Frans Squash Casserole!!!

14 Responses to “Stuffin’ Muffin Recipe!”

  1. 2012 Thanksgiving Day!!!! November 25, 2012 at 8:28 am #

    Reblogged this on Happy Thanksgiving 2012.

  2. David Emeron November 25, 2012 at 10:06 am #

    This concoction of yours has thoroughly amazed me! Even though the holiday has passed, I feel I absolutely must make these in order to properly address the leftovers!!!

    • Alex K November 25, 2012 at 10:14 am #

      Thanks they really are great! Enjoy!!!

      • David Emeron November 25, 2012 at 5:02 pm #

        Hello again, young miss!

        My dear wife is presently sending me out for ingredients. (Although I believe I shall be the chef as regards this project) I shall make sure to get extra just in case but if you see this can you comment regarding how much sausage you use? Or what size? I’m not sure how Jimmy Dean’s sausage is packaged and/or sold;

        (however I did once get his autograph back in his glory days–pre-sausage!)

      • Alex K November 25, 2012 at 5:54 pm #

        I used 2 16 oz rolls because I doubled the recipe it the loose kind not in casing and if you aren’t making a big batch one will suffice!

      • David Emeron November 25, 2012 at 6:03 pm #

        Thank you very much. I guessed correctly then. I did buy two 16 oz. pkgs.

      • Alex K November 25, 2012 at 6:04 pm #

        Perfect! Would love to know how they turn out and how you like them! πŸ™‚

      • David Emeron November 25, 2012 at 8:38 pm #

        well, they are now in the oven…. I am watching them carefully, but I have no idea how long it will take. Can you give an estimate of what one can expect?

      • Alex K November 25, 2012 at 9:02 pm #

        My old oven was 20 minutes but my new one they were still mushy so when they turn brown and crispy on top you are good to go!

      • David Emeron November 25, 2012 at 9:16 pm #

        perhaps your old oven was off by 25 degrees or so. Mine is relatively new as well, so perhaps 375 might work better. I’ll try on the next batch.

      • David Emeron November 25, 2012 at 9:16 pm #

        as you well know, I have a huge amount of muffin makings waiting to go into the oven!

      • David Emeron November 25, 2012 at 10:30 pm #

        It took quite a long time, as you warned it might, but they were wonderful!!!

        The next batch is baking at 375

        We’ll see what happens after 20 minutes. I wonder if I may have made them too moist as well. They are not entirely saturated with broth, but nearly so. That seems to be what you were indicating.

        In any case, the first batch, one we got them crisp were amazing! This is a muffin I can really get behind! They’ve no need for butter or margerine, however something sweet goes well on them. Blueberry Jam. I wish I had some cranberry jam that would be perfect!

        How did you serve them?

      • Alex K November 25, 2012 at 10:46 pm #

        I just served them with thanksgiving dinner so a bit of cranberry sauce and gravy went nice! Glad they worked well for you πŸ™‚

  3. David Emeron November 25, 2012 at 10:09 am #

    Reblogged this on David Emeron: Reflections upon Reflections and commented:
    This is absolutely the best thing I have ever seen! Perhaps I exaggerate, however, I thoroughly believe that once I taste these I shall obtain either an altered state of conciousness, a heightened state of awareness, or perhaps even Nirvana.

Leave a Reply

