Using up leftovers…the saga begins!

25 Nov

These events are from Saturday:

Workout 3.75 miles in 40 minutes… not too shabby! I ran before we went to Noelle’s Bday party (my sil and Dan’s Sister) More on that later. 

We not only had a lot of left overs from Thanksgiving but also from the days before and from what I purchased extra thinking I would need for the holiday but did not!

So after work Saturday I made a hearty lunch with some left over sausage. I was craving eggs so this seemed quick and easy.

Biscuits and gravy:

I cooked the sausage in the frying pan with a little flour and milk to get a cream gravy going (after the meat was browned of course) then added salt  and pepper and place into a bowl. I then defrosted some biscuits and covered with scrambled eggs then gravy!

It was yummy and after some digesting I did my run.

After a cold run, (our basement was really cold for some reason and I did not get warm until mile 3), it was time for a shower. One most look good when attending a fancy and fun birthday party! Plus good hygiene is important.

So I put on my best dress and party shoes and we headed out.

Nude suede shoes with gold heels and black patent bows with gold spikes… Perfection!!!

When we arrived I had to visit my nephew who seemed pretty relaxed while in a very strange sleeping situation!

I had to pet him a bit after this and love him, he seemed lonely! He came down later and joined the party.

Then it was time for a picture with the birthday girl….

Those are some pretty good genes Dan and I’s future children are getting based off this picture!

BUT in classic Dan style since he took this, he also took 6 more the last of which was a classic give me the camera photo. Made better only by my SIL’s face!

I hope everyone had an enjoyable holiday weekend!! Dan and I sure did and look forward to more Holidays with family and friends 🙂

5 Responses to “Using up leftovers…the saga begins!”

  1. Miss.OnceUponAMarathon November 26, 2012 at 7:56 pm #

    yum! those leftovers look good! I too am beginning the leftover quest…

    • Alex K November 26, 2012 at 9:28 pm #

      Nice! What are something’s you have made? I also made a shepherds pie type casserole with all of the left overs from thanksgiving dinner and packaged it for lunches this week!

  2. Miss.OnceUponAMarathon November 27, 2012 at 12:21 pm #

    That’s a very good idea! I made a stir fry with some of the leftover turkey and vegetables. I also turned a sweet potato casserole into a dessert by adding caramel syrup and whipped cream on it. It was really tasty! But then again the dish was already on the sweet side :). I bought too many cranberries for cranberry jam, so I am trying to figure out more ways to use them up. So far I have made an apple/cranberry pie and a cranberry apple quick bread. (I guess apples and cranberries go well together! haha).

    • Alex K November 27, 2012 at 2:25 pm #

      I love apples and cranberries! Plus sweet things are my absolute weakness so the Sweet potatoes sound like heaven!

      • Miss.OnceUponAMarathon November 27, 2012 at 5:12 pm #

        haha sweet things are my weakness too!! Part of the reason it is good that I run, and good that I ENJOY running!!

Leave a Reply

