New Meal Monday with a Holiday twist…

10 Dec

No not the meal itself, it is not the Holiday twist, we will get to that at the end of the post.

Today it was a dreary and rainy day so for lunch I was craving this…

Panera Bread Broccoli Cheese Soup!

Panera Bread Broccoli Cheese Soup!

Honestly it is a good thing I had to run errands today near there and stopped by, because if it was any closer I would be going there a lot more!

BUT THE NEW MEAL WAS THIS….

IMG_2990

TACO SALAD. The salad part was so good here is why…

IMG_2989

Iceberg Lettuce, Red Cabbage and FRESH MANGOES!!!

Plate the salad put chicken and spanish rice on top, then cheese. I crushed a few multigrain scoops on top and then added some hot sauce! It really hit the spot.

Later it was time to exercise. My ankle is still a bit sore from the fall and to not exacerbate it I did a walk run, But I did hill intervals ranging form 0% to 15% incline. Total workout was:


IMG_2991

Here is the pre-programmed workout a little ways in.

IMG_2992

That elevation gain is not only the reason for the calorie burn but also for taking me 45 minutes to go 3 miles!

It was a good workout even so and I was able to space out and enjoy watching MONK on Netflix. Before I knew it, it was 10pm and I was ready for bed, but needed to blog first :).

Finally for the Holiday Activity.

Our job collected money to make the Holidays great for a few local families. So we took the money we made and bought three local deserving families Christmas Gifts and today we dropped them off.

IMG_2988

Ellington Human Services is such a great thing for our local community! They provide families who are struggling with food and other necessities when going through hard times.  It is great to know things like this are out there helping people through tough times! It really warms my heart to do such good for the local community!

DO you give back to others during the Holiday Season??

My in-laws are also helping a local family they know in their town, so Dan and I are donating a Grocery Gift Certificate to help them out!

Leave a Reply

