A tragic day…

14 Dec

As you know I live in Connecticut, if you watched the news today you know what happened in our state and I do not have to spell it out for you. You know my blog is usually a happy place for happy things, but when 26 people lose their lives over non-sense it angers me. Especially when 20 are children!!!

I didn’t think it was right to post anything happy or Christmasy today and will resume those things tomorrow. And even though our part of Connecticut is almost 2 hours from Newtown, it will always hold great sadness for me even before this event. The first and only time I went there was to say goodbye to one of my good friends from college who died far too young in a car accident (it was her hometown).

I woke up this morning at 5 am to go workout with Jeff from 6 am-7 am. On my way back home before turning onto my road I stopped to take this picture. I thought, wow how beautiful today, will be a Wonderful day. But I was wrong.

IMG_3010

All day on facebook, people from around our great state have been writing how sorry and horrified they are and while it is great to see everyone come together, it is so sad it’s over something like this. I was glad to hear there that tonight’s sunset was just as glorious. A fitting sendoff to heaven for those innocents lost today and hopefully a small piece of comfort that they are now in a place of true and eternal beauty.

Until the day when all goes back to normal and we do not forget this event, because I for one never will. But as we move away from this and try to get back to normal for now it is more common to see things like this…

IMG_3011

It is so heartbreaking but the one thing from this that parents and families and even myself took away from this is… Love your families and have fun every day life, is far too short. So make sure every day to tell your loved ones what they mean to you and enjoy your life, because you never know how much time anyone has left.

One Response to “A tragic day…”

  1. The Mind of RD Revilo December 14, 2012 at 10:30 pm #

    Reblogged this on RD Revilo.

Leave a Reply

