Blizzard of 2013….

8 Feb

Today starts the Blizzard of 2013 in our area…..really hoping for two things:

1. To not lose power and get snowed in at our house, not have to drive to my parents in a blizzard!

2. To feel better. I woke up with a crazy cold and stomach bug at 6:30 am today and am not loving it!

Here in Connecticut our Governor has shut down state roads at noon and most everything is closed, so if you are a fellow Connecticuter like I am (yes I searched that on the internet, because I refuse to call us nutmegers) have fun being snowed in and spending time with your loved ones!

Yesterday’s workout ended up being 4.25 miles in around 55 minutes. I say around because I only took a picture of my first run. I ran in segments yesterday  1.25 miles in the morning because I was running late. Then 3 miles in the afternoon. I should have known I was getting sick in the 3 mile run when I started to sweat heavily and get a little dizzy! 

I wore these cuties because compression socks are now 100 percent needed in every run. Thanks pregnancy leg cramps. I love pro compression socks, they are pretty and get the job done.

IMG_3368

I think it goes without saying that I am taking today off from running though.

Last night I prepped some food for Dan, Ricky and I. Dan’s friend Ricky is looking for a new place so he is staying with us for a little while.

It is a good thing I am laid off because he is staying in the basement, yes that is where my beloved treadmill is, so I run when he is at work.

I made chicken minestrone soup and this….

Alex’s Knife and Fork Taco Pizza.

Recipe:

1 Trader Joe’s Garlic and Herb Pizza Dough

1 lb Ground Chicken cooked and seasoned with Taco seasoning

As much Trader Joes Fat Free Pizza Sauce as you like

Mix of Mexican and Mozzarella Cheeses

Directions:

Roll out dough however you like, spread sauce and cheese an cover with chicken. Bake to directions on dough.

Here is what is looked like before going into the oven. I would have added olives too but Dan doesnt like those.

IMG_3371

And here is what it looked like when I ate a piece for dinner, and why I call it knife and fork pizza.

IMG_3372I added lettuce, cheese and taco sauce, I think I am onto the new best way to eat tacos!

Now we are all ready to get snowed in. I hope everyone enjoys their day and I will have a new post tonight. Including food I didnt post earlier this week and a snow update!

2 Responses to “Blizzard of 2013….”

  1. Kim February 9, 2013 at 9:21 am #

    How much snow did you get? I look outside and just sigh. I think I’ll stay in until Spring.

  2. Kim W. Bond February 11, 2013 at 12:56 am #

    The smartest thing I did this week was deciding to squeeze in my long run on Friday. It left my Saturday and Sunday wide open. Fantastico if you ask me! It was mighty cold out (32 with an icy chill in the air; it had snowed a little the night before), but the sun was out. When the sun comes out, I cannot help but answer the call.

Leave a Reply

