Disney Princess Half Marathon Top 10…..

24 Feb

I am writing this at 2:20 am. Wasn’t my plan to wake up at 3 am you might ask? The answer is yes it was! But I woke up in true pregnant lady fashion at 1 am having to pee and havent been able to fall back asleep. Call it insomnia, call it jitters, call it whatever but it is what it is. Being awake and half dressed while Dan snores next to me, and I cannot justify waking him until 3 am, prompted me to make this post. 10 things about this race that I needed to share with all of you…..Here we go.

10- The number of days Dan and I have been away from home. We are having fun and all but I miss my little Finny munchkin.

9- The number of toenails I have coming into this race. This surprised me when last saturday one of my little toe nails fell off since I have NOT been training much at all. Thank you morning sickness!

8-  The number of rides I was able to go on while at Universal and Magic Kingdom. Can I just say magic Kingdom is the perfect place to go for pregnant ladies and small children, almost all the rides are do-able! This helped ease a bit of my race stress! 

7- Around the number of times I looked at this thing yesterday and got really nervous about running through it.

IMG_3509

I am a bit concerned about completing the race in a 16 minute mile pace, but darn it I will power walk this whole thing if I have to!

6- The minimum number of times I will have to tell myself I can do this. In case you havent figured this out I don’t feel well prepared for this race. I was too sick the first 3 months of Pregnancy to adequately train but I wasn’t going to give up and not do it. So I suppose I have to keep that feeling alive today! 

5- The time I have to be in my corral by! This is the earliest race I have ever done, but also probably the most fun and rewarding. See number 2 for why. 

4- The number of miles I will run before I feel like absolute death, I did 6 a couple weeks ago but I was struggling. But hey thats what quick walk breaks are for right! 

3- Well 3:30, the cutoff time for the race. This is only 40 minutes more than my PR time. BUT if I can keep my feet moving I should be able to do it! 

2- The amount of people racing under bib 11430. So I bet by now you can tell I am freaking out about finishing. The number one thing that will keep me going today is being a hero for someone else. I always want my children to think of me as a positive role model and it will be a great story to one day tell him/her about how they ran a half marathon with me! 

1- No matter what I finish in I plan on crossing that finish line strong! I will then be number 1 to myself knowing I accomplished something I was jittery and unsure of! 

*Finally because I am sure they are both freaking out reading this, to Mom L and Mom K don’t worry I will be careful and walk a lot. I will not push myself super hard and endanger your grandchild. I do kind of love this baby already and look out for it on a daily basis! 😉

Well time to finish getting ready, wake up dan and head out!

2 Responses to “Disney Princess Half Marathon Top 10…..”

  1. Donna Allegro February 24, 2013 at 3:12 am #

    Good Luck Alex! Just have fun ! Hope you and baby K enjoy your run! Luv ya!

    • Alex K February 24, 2013 at 1:34 pm #

      Thanks Donna it was a great race! Love ya too!!!

Leave a Reply

