Princess Half Marathon Weekend Recap Part 1

10 Mar

Since I ran 3 races that weekend this will be a two parter! BUT don’t worry if you don’t read the blog for running purposes there are plenty of Disney photos and Florida pictures. Plus if you are like me and in an area blanketed in snow you could use a look at some nice warm weather!!!

IMG_5808

Before I left I bought Lauren and I these crowns at Target, sorry for the weird face I was in conversation with Dan in the car and was trying to snap the picture in between his comments about me being a loser for buying a princess crown!

These crowns will be talked about again so remember this.

Lauren and I managed to arrive at the airport around the same time even though she came from California and I came from CT. We went right to the hotel, checked in quick and headed to the expo for the race. Since I was doing the 5k on friday at 6am I had to go pick up all my items Thursday, plus I had pre-ordered shirts from Raw Threads to race in and had to pick them up at the expo to complete my race outfits!

IMG_5827 IMG_5828

The Braves were at the ESPN wide world of sports that day and you could hear them practicing as you walked to the expo. We also wore our crowns, (see I said they would be back) this wasnt the only time this weekend we wore them, and everytime we did people asked where they could buy them. Apparently I was a genius in having the foresight to buy crowns since they were in demand! SEE DAN, SMART NOT A LOSER!!! Though I need to stop talking pictures of myself while talking to people!!

That was apparently all the pictures I took of the expo, but we did shop an extreme amount, so that may have had something to do with it :).

After the expo we headed to downtown disney and had a late lunch/dinner, I have to be honest and say I was worried about eating in Disney as I have been on a eating plan given to me by my trainer to test out. I had lost around 7lbs before the race and had extra time to train so I knew I was in good shape running wise, just had to stick to healthy options.

IMG_5829

I ended up getting a chicken wrap with avacados, cucumbers, tomatoes, lettuce and oil and vinegar on it. It was super satisfying and reassuring that on the first day I was able to find options suited towards me!

Then it was back to the hotel and to bed for my second day out of 4 that I would wake up at 3 am that weekend! It was time to get ready for the 5k! You can see my 5k outfit here. Lauren did not do the 5k so she stayed at the hotel and rested up. We needed rest each day since we ran every morning and went to parks every afternoon!

I got on the bus and headed to the race. I sat next to a girl who was also running alone, we ended up being in the same corral and ran together the whole time it was her first 5k. More on that later.

IMG_5842 IMG_5844Corral B and the starting line! Disney 5k’s are awesome because while there is a clock you are not timed. There is no chip on the back of the bib and you can take it as slow or fast as you want! This helped a lot with my nerves for the weekend and I think prepared me for the next two days!

I decided the night before that I would take the 5k slow enough to be rested for my next two races, but still quick enough to get a good shake out.

IMG_5850 IMG_5851 IMG_5852

Here are some 5k race photos, it takes place in Epcot and goes by so quickly because of that! There is so much to see and hear and its just fun!

The clock is from when corral A started. So we ended up finishing the race around 48 minutes. I was happy with that, since I wasnt about to kill myself for an untimed race, and because I had my goal in sight to beat my Tinkerbell Half Marathon time. (after a 5k and 10k back to back I wasnt sure how the half would go!) Plus my new friend Stephanie was excited about finishing her first 5k and I was just so excited for her. It brought me back to when I first fell in love with running/racing and all the things that go with it. She had a lot to be proud of and so did I!

We boarded the bus headed back to the hotel and said our goodbyes, but not before getting a medal picture to celebrate!!

IMG_5855 Ignore my haggard nailpolish!!!

Then it was time for Lauren and I to head to some parks! Todays agenda was Animal Kingdom and Epcot. Lauren is the parks master and planned out our days, times and rides so everything was super efficient and we spent almost no time waiting!

I had never been to AK and hadnt been to Epcot (as a guest, I was clearly there running hours before) since I was a little girl so I didnt remember it well!

IMG_5857 IMG_5858 IMG_5861 IMG_5862 IMG_5863

The above photos are just some highlights from the parks. Including the dinosaur ride (my favorite in AK) and the Mission Space Ride in Epcot, we went for the green level and I still felt a bit dizzy afterwards but it was really fun!

Then it was back to the hotel for rest, dinner and bed. That night Lauren and I had french food from the french restaurant in Epcot. I got Soup and some pasta, but was so full after the soup I brought the rest home. We were in bed by 7:30 and up at 3am again when my alarm went off to catch the 3:30am bus to the 10k……

…….To hear more on that you will have to read tomorrows entry!!!

2 Responses to “Princess Half Marathon Weekend Recap Part 1”

  1. kimbo2222 March 10, 2014 at 7:09 pm #

    Epcot looks awesome. It sounds like a lot of running to me? A 5K, then a 10K, and last a 1/2 marathon… Seems like a lot of effort for some cute medals, but you run girl, you run.

    • Alex K March 10, 2014 at 7:30 pm #

      Ha thanks Kim! They are cute medals but, running is my hobby so it’s more about the race for me and the medals a cute token for later.

Leave a Reply

