Princess Half Marathon, the final post!

13 Mar

This is it, the last post of 1/2 Marathon weekend. After this we can move onto current events!

So let’s get right into it! I was a bit worried after the 10k because I had worn mini shorts under my running skirt, but with how humid it was my body glide wore off and I had such bad chaffing on my thighs from the shorts. Thankfully for the half I wore capris and a red shirt, there was no chaffing and I was super comfortable (aside from the heat).  I was dressed as Ariel, sadly I don’t have a photo of my outfit!

IMG_5896 IMG_5897

Heading to my corral, at this point the road split into two zones for corrals since there was over 25,000 people running!

IMG_5899 IMG_5903 IMG_5905

As you can see this race is much larger than Tinkerbell, the 5k and 10k! The last picture is of the Magic Kingdom sign, it still takes a while from here to hit the park and get to the Castle but the sign itself is motivating!

IMG_5907 IMG_5908 IMG_5909Once in the park you head up Main St, into Tomorrow land and then through the Castle. I allowed myself to slow a bit in here to take pictures of it all, but then it was back to being serious about the race. It was a SUPER humid day and everyone was feeling that and commenting on it while on the course. I initially started the race at a 2 min to 1 min Run/Walk interval, then went down to 1 to 1 around mile 5 or 6. After I left the Castle I was able to get back to 2 to 1 for 2-3 miles, then as I hit the overpasses I got pretty tired and still worked hard but listened to my body when I needed to take it easier and when I could push myself. As you may know from the previous posts my goal was to beat last years time of 3:35 and my tinkerbell time of 3:17.

IMG_5911I took this photo as I cross the finish line and waited to collect my medal.

And here are the photos I stole from Laurens snap chat as I waited for her to finish!

IMG_5912 IMG_5913

The 13th mile marker and Lauren finishing!

My results:

IMG_5918

NET TIME: 3:07:38, that is 10 minutes faster than Tinkerbell and almost 30 minutes faster than last years PHM!!!! Goal met and out of my 4 Halves this was my second fastest, creeping in on my PR!!!

After the race was over I had a ton of medals! Including my Coast to Coast the pink one below.

alex2

We showered, napped and then headed to the Magic Kingdom to celebrate our last night it Florida! I was taking advantage of it all since I would be headed back to cold weather and Lauren was headed to California (lucky).

I took pictures of one ride because Little Mermaid is my Favorite Disney movie and the ride was so cute!

IMG_5933

The race was awesome, I feel like I am making a come back! I just need to keep up training and get myself back into 9-12 minute mile territory! I will get there just take things slow and do things the right way!

Until next time Disney it was fun and I cannot wait to do another Disney Race!!! Thinking Wine and Dine 2015, whose coming with me?!?!?!?

Leave a Reply

